Congratulations 2022 Award Winners

Please help us congratulate the winners

Please join me in congratulating the four extraordinary individuals that were honored at this year's conference award lunch.

Ashley Winchell, AICP, recipient of the 2022 Barbara Grace Award for dedication to public service and professional accomplishment as a mid-career planner with all the hallmarks of a future leader in the planning profession. Ashley is known as thoughtful, pragmatic, and effective in her work, with a dedication to building lasting relationships with the community in the service of better planning.

Dee Caputo, FAICP, recipient of the 2022 Robert "Bob" Burke Award for distinguished service to the APA Washington Chapter. Dee has served on numerous boards and committees including the most recent position of Planning Official Development Officer. Along with working with the committee of planners, she promotes the value of planning with elected officials, commissions, and the broader community. Additionally, she also serves as a resource for members seeking timely and educational material on various planning topics.

Senator Liz Lovelett, recipient of the 2022 Legislator of the Year Award for dedicated attention to, and a positive impact on, the state's planning framework. Sen. Lovelett has a resume that has planning all over it: small business owner in a historic downtown; city councilmember, and member of the following committees in the Washington State Senate: Housing & Local Government, Transportation, and Environment, Energy & Technology Committee, of which she is vice-chair. Senator Lovelett has advocated for both investments in planning work and a methodical review of how we do planning in this state and how that planning framework could be revised to address some of the trends and challenges.

Nancy Eklund, AICP, was honorably mentioned for her dedicated service as chapter president during two challenging pandemic years and continued service as an active and extraordinarily helpful past president this past year. Thank you Nancy!