+Complete Section Listing

The Southwest Section is committed to promoting sound planning practices based on ethical principles to help the community improve its quality of life, realize its goals, and secure its future.

SW Section Statement on Racial Equity and Inclusion

Board of Directors | Bylaws Get Updates | Events | Strategic Plan 

 Board of Directors

The Board of Directors meets for a conference call on the first Wednesday of every month at 5:00 PM PT.

Executive Board email: [email protected] for login instructions.

Professional Development Co-Chairs: Adam Trimble and Alec Egurrola 

Position Name Position Expiration Date
President Melissa Johnston, AICP October 31, 2024
President-Elect Claire Lust October 31, 2024
Immediate Past President Sam Rubin, AICP  
Treasurer Ethan Spoo, AICP October 31, 2024
Secretary Drew Helmes October 31, 2024
Clark County Representative Harrison Husting October 31, 2024
Cowlitz County Representative Jason Lugo October 31, 2024
Skamania County Representative Mandy Hertel October 31, 2024
Clark County Representative Jenna Kay, AICP October 31, 2024
Professional Development Co-Chair Alec Egurrola October 31, 2024
Professional Development Co-Chair Adam Trimble October 31, 2024
Communications Chair Mark Person, AICP October 31, 2024
Legislative Liaison Brian Carrico October 31, 2024


Section Bylaws

The bylaws are the organizing and operating protocols for the SW Section. The most recent version was unanimously voted for approval on July 18, 2018.

Read the Southwest Chapter Bylaws

Get Updates 

Subscribe to the SW WA APA listserv to receive a quarterly newsletter and notices for upcoming events.
To join, send an email to: [email protected]  and like us on Facebook


In 2024, most professional development and social events will be held on third Thursdays. Email [email protected] to join the mailing list for event invitations and details.




April 18 / 9 a.m.- noon

SW Planners Spring Forum



June 20th, 5-7 PM

SW WA Planners’ Social Networking

Join the SW WA section of the APA for a Social Networking event hosted by Maul Foster and Alongi (MFA) at their brand-new Vancouver office! Come mingle with fellow planners and colleagues while enjoying drinks and refreshments on MFA’s 4th-floor patio overlooking downtown and uptown Vancouver.

Please RSVP to Melissa:[email protected]. We’re looking forward to hosting you at our new space!

When: Thursday, June 20, 2024 from 5-7 PM.

Where: 330 E Mill Plain Boulevard, Suite 405. MFA’s office is located in the Angelo Tower. Please park in streetside parking spaces along E 15th street, C street, or E Mill Plain Boulevard. 

July 18th, 9-11:30 AM

SW WA Planner’s Forum

Save the Date

Board Meeting Agendas & Minutes

January | View Minutes
March | View Minutes 
April | View Minutes 
May | View Minutes


View 2021–2022 Board Minutes 

Online Training and Resources

Have a look at these free Online Training and Resources document. For additional trainings check out our YouTube Channel with recorded trainings.

Strategic Plan

The Southwest Section exists to support our members, to advance the planning profession and to make communities great. The Strategic Plan includes prioritized goals, strategies and actions items to be accomplished over a two-year period.