Nominations Now Open for Annual Best Practices in Economic Development Awards

The APA Economic Development Division has re-launched its awards program and is seeking nominations in three categories — Best Practices, Innovation, and Student Project. One project that is submitted in the best practice or innovation category will be selected for the Donald E. Hunter Excellence in Economic Development Award honoring Don Hunter who contributed a great deal of time and wisdom to APA, including serving as Chair of the Division.

Nominations are due Friday, February 25th by 5:00 p.m. EST.

Check out the APA website for the awards information packet and application forms

The winners of the awards will be announced at the 2022 Annual National APA Planning Conference to be held in San Diego from April 30-May 3. Award recipients will receive a certificate, be featured in the Economic Development Division’s quarterly newsletter, and be given the opportunity to participate in a webinar discussing their award-winning project.

Note: In addition to work done by a team, whose work you feel is a great example of one of the three award categories, please be aware that you are able to self-nominate for projects you are proud of and/or for the work of a consultant who has helped your team. Beyond getting the recognition your team deserves, this is an opportunity to share your ideas for how you were able to address challenges that many of your colleagues are also experiencing.

Please address any questions on the awards program to [email protected] with “Awards” in the subject line.

We look forward to seeing your entries!

<< Previous Article

Return to the Washington Planner

Next Article >>